An Afternoon out to the Madd Hatter’s Cafe

I am very fond of trying new things, so yesterday myself and a friend ventured into Leicester Square, Central London to a cafe called “Madd Hatter’s Cafe”. It was a two minute walk from Leicester Square station which was great as it wasn’t hard to find.  The cafe had a very subtle “Alice in Wonderland” vibe to it, I did except to see more Mad Hatter assocations however it had a bit of homey deco and a red, brown and magnolia colour scheme, which I still found lovely. Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The afternoon tea menu we selected was the “Ace of Spades” set, which consisted of savoury canapes which were three small  focaccia buns, which had three different fillings, one had falafel, the other ham, tomato and cheese and the final one had what I assume was brie, they all tasted delicious.

    Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

You could chose between a tea or a latte, there was an array of teas, from milky to herbal, I chose the loose leaf summerfruits tea. How the tea was contained was throughly interesting to me. It came in what looked like a jug, which drains the tea from the chopped fruits contained, when placed on top of the glass, which I found fun to watch and it was a speedy process. The tea tasted nice, subtly sweet and warm, it did remind me of how diluted warm Ribena tastes, which I liked.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We also got four triangular shaped brownies and two chocolate and two orange macaroons, cake bombs were meant to be apart of the set however the barista informed us that they were unavailable and to compensate for that we were given an extra macaroon. The brownies and macaroons tasted okay. There definitely wasn’t a party in my mouth.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The best part of the afternoon tea set was definitely the cakes we had. My friend had an oreo cupcake and I had a slice of red velvet cake. I tried a bit of the Oreo cupcake and it was delightful. The red velvet cake was absolutely scrumptious, it was the right consistency and the cream cheese tasted soo good!! I savoured each an every bite it was that bloody good haha.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The whole “Ace of Spades” set cost £14 each, which I found was reasonably priced. The only bad thing about the set was the selection of brownies and the macaroons we had. Other than that I would recommend going there to drink their tea and have a slice of cake/or a cupcake. That’s what I plan on doing when I am next in Leicester Square area.

Rating: 6.5 /10

Leave a Reply

